The Centre for Speech Technology Research, The university of Edinburgh

CSTR Staff and Students


Name Position Email Office
Simon King Director of CSTR, Professor of Speech Processing IF 3.11
Peter Bell Professor of Speech Technology IF 3.24A
Korin Richmond Reader IF 3.03
Hiroshi Shimodaira Senior Lecturer IF 3.04
Catherine Lai Lecturer IF 3.26
Hao Tang Lecturer IF 3.03
Cassia Valentini-Botinhao Senior Researcher IF 3.26
Jonathan Kilgour Research Associate IF 3.24
Yumnah Mohamied Research Associate IF 3.46
Ondrej Klejch Research Associate IF 3.05
Lorena Aldana Research Associate 3.37
Electra Wallington Research Assistant

PhD students

Name Position Email Office
Andrea Carmantini PhD Student IF 3.26
Carol Chermaz Marie Curie Fellow IF 3.48
Jie Chi PhD Student BC 3.20
Mai Hoang Dao PhD Student
Jason Fong PhD Student IF 3.50
Avashna Govender Marie Curie Fellow IF 3.05
Zack Hodari PhD Student IF 3.25
Yuanchao Li PhD Student
Chau Luu PhD Student IF 2.39
Christoph Minixhofer PhD Student
Johannah O'Mahony PhD Student IF x.xx
Pilar Oplustil Gallegos PhD Student IF 3.50
Ramon Sanabria PhD Student
Nicholas Sanders PhD Student Wilkie Building
Jason Taylor PhD student IF 4.23
Emelie van de Vreken PhD Student BC 3.20
Jacob Webber PhD Student IF 3.25
Dan Wells PhD Student BC 3.20
Sarenne Wallbridge PhD Student
Gene-Ping Yang PhD Student
Sung-Lin Yeh PhD Student
Zeyu Zhao PhD Student

Honorary members

Name Position Email Office
Steve Renals Emeritus Professor
Steve Isard Honorary Fellow
Matthew Aylett Honorary Fellow

Associate members

Name Position Email Office
Alexandra Birch Research Associate IF 4.38
Sharon Goldwater Reader IF 3.17
Vasilis Karaiskos Research Associate IF 4.38
Johanna Moore Professor IF 3.14
Mark Steedman Professor of Cognitive Science IF 4.15
Maria Wolters Reader in Design Informatics IF 4.32

External members

Name Position Email Office
Aciel Eshky Machine Learning Researcher (Rasa)
Gregor Hofer CEO (Speech Graphics)
Gustav Eje Henter Assistant Professor (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
Jim Scobbie Honorary Fellow; Professor of Speech Science (Queen Margaret University)
Pawel Swietojanski University of New South Wales
Junichi Yamagishi Professor (NII, Tokyo)
Keiichi Tokuda Honorary Professor; Professor (Nagoya Institute of Technology)
Oliver Watts CTO (SpeakUnique)

Support staff

Name Position Email Office
Caroline Hastings Portfolio Manager IF 3.35
Seona Wharrie Institute Administrative Secretary IF 3.37